Winner of inaugural CBER-Circle Insight Award announced

Winner of inaugural CBER-Circle Insight Award announced

Company Updates

Circle, a global digital financial technology firm and the issuer of USDC and EUROC, and the Crypto and Blockchain Economics Research (CBER) Forum, a group of blockchain-focused faculty from leading universities, are proud to announce the winner of the first CBER-Circle Insight Award. This inaugural award, which includes a monetary recognition of 10,000 USDC, celebrates an exceptional scholarly paper that advances original, insightful approaches to addressing practical issues with blockchain technology.

The winner of the CBER-Circle Insight Prize is “Flash Boys 2.0: Frontrunning, Transaction Reordering, and Consensus Instability in Decentralized Exchanges,” authored by Philip Daian, Steven Goldfeder, Tyler Kell, Yunqi Li, Xueyuan Zhao, Iddo Bentov, Lorenz Breidenbach, and Ari Juels. This paper highlighted a key issue that has since spurred a number of important on-going projects aimed at strengthening the core architecture of consensus mechanisms and smart contract developments that mitigate against adverse behaviors.

The paper was unanimously selected by the award selection committee, which included Joshua Gans (University of Toronto), Gordon Liao (Circle), Christine Parlour (University of California, Berkeley), Tim Roughgarden (Columbia University), and David Yermack (New York University).

“Groundbreaking research insights are the bedrock of tomorrow's innovations in finance and web3,” said Gordon Liao, Circle’s Chief Economist. “At Circle, we take pride in championing impactful research that shapes industry practices and policies, paving the way for transformative technological leap.”

The paper and its authors will be officially recognized at the third annual CBER Conference on May 5th 2023 at Columbia University.

Related blogs

View all
Avalanche EUROC Blog
Company Updates

Avalanche EUROC: Expanding Access to the Euro

Team Circle | May 25, 2023

Avalanche EUROC is here! We’re excited to announce that Euro Coin has gone multi-chain. Now natively on Avalanche for developers and their users. Learn more.

Read story about Avalanche EUROC: Expanding Access to the Euro
defending dollar competitiveness currency in the crossfire Circle Foreign Policy
Company Updates

Defending Dollar Competitiveness

Team Circle | May 16, 2023

Discussion about the opportunity for policymakers to reinvigorate the U.S. dollar and keep its global competitiveness at the “Currency in the Crossfire” event.

Read story about Defending Dollar Competitiveness
From the Cloud to the Blockchain
Company Updates

New Operating System for Money: Circle's Role in Digital Transformation

Li Fan | April 20, 2023

Blockchain is the next level of digital transformation. Learn how the combination of web3 and stablecoins on the corporate cloud is attracting enterprises.

Read story about New Operating System for Money: Circle's Role in Digital Transformation